Co-editing with others in documents

Multiple editors on a team can edit a document at the same time. You can edit in a different, or the same, paragraph, table, image, and other document elements. Every editor can see the changes in different colors at the same time.

About this task

Each participant in the co-editing group must have access to the document as an editor. For example, if you want to co-edit a document with your team members, you must share the document with them and set their access levels to Editor. To co-edit with others, perform the following steps:

Procedure

  1. If you are the file owner and initiated co-editing, click Shared By Me in the Connections Files application. Otherwise, click Shared With Me.
  2. From the Files list, click the name of the document that you want to co-edit. Then, click Edit to open the document in Connections Docs.
  3. When the document opens, the editors’ profile pictures are listed in the sidebar with their Connections Chat availability status and their assigned co-editing highlight color. A co-editor's profile picture is dimmed when he or she is not currently in the document.
    the editors profile list
    Note: During co-editing, you can show and hide the collaboration sidebar by clicking the sidebar button sidebar button at the end of the bar that displays the file name. In a new document, the sidebar is hidden by default. The sidebar button also displays the number of unread comments in a document.
  4. When you are ready to allow readers to view or download the document, take one of the following actions:
    • If the File > Publish Automatically menu item is enabled, close the document by clicking the Close Tab icon (x) and the document is published automatically. Note that, in a group editing session, the file is published only when the last co-editor closes the document.
    • To publish the document manually, click File > Publish Now . Click the Close Tab icon (x) to leave the document.
    Note: If a co-editor deletes the file during your edit session, you are notified. Click OK in the message window to save your document as a new file and ensure that the changes you made can be preserved.