Sharing documents with people or communities

You can share a document with people or communities, and set their access as editors or readers. You can also make it available for everyone in your organization to read.

About this task

You can share a file when you upload it. You can also share it after you upload it, or after you create your document.

Procedure

  1. To share a file from the Connections Files application, click My Files.
    1. Find the file that you want to share. Select the check box before the file name.
    2. Click the Share button. The Share a document dialog box appears.
  2. To share a document while editing in IBM® Connections Docs, click the Share button on the toolbar. The Share a document dialog box appears.
  3. To specify permissions for others, select People or Communities and then make the following selections:
    1. Select a Person or a Community.
    2. Select as Reader or as Editor to assign access.
    3. Perform one of the following tasks:
      • To share with people, click the field to display the names of people that you recently shared files with. If the person you are looking for is displayed, select the name. If it is not displayed, type a name or email address, and then select the person. If the name that you want is not displayed, click Person not listed? Use full search to search for it.
      • To share with a community, start typing the name of the community, and then select the community when it is displayed.
        Important: When you share a file with a public community, the file becomes public.
    4. Add an optional message for people with whom you shared the file.
  4. Optional: Select Public if you want to make the file visible to everyone in your organization.
  5. Click Share.