Co-editing with others in presentations

Multiple editors on a team can edit a presentation at the same time. Every editor can see the changes in different colors at the same time.

About this task

Each participant in the co-editing group must have access to the presentation as an editor. For example, if you want to co-edit a presentation with your team members, you must share the presentation with them and set their access levels to Editor. To co-edit with others, perform the following steps:

Procedure

  1. If you are the file owner and initiate co-editing, click Shared By Me in the Connections Files application. Otherwise, click Shared With Me.
  2. From the list of files, click the name of the presentation that you want to co-edit. Then, click Edit to open the presentation in Connections Docs.
  3. All the editors’ profile pictures are shown in the sidebar with their Connections Chat availability status and their assigned co-editing highlight color. A co-editor's profile picture is dimmed when they are not currently in the presentation.
    Several co-editors profile pictures with one dimmed
    Note: During co-editing, you can show and hide the collaboration sidebar by clicking the sidebar icon sidebar button at the end of the bar that displays the file name. In a new presentation, the sidebar is hidden by default. The sidebar icon displays the number of unread comments in a presentation.
  4. When you are ready to allow readers to view or download the document, take one of the following actions:
    • If the File > Publish Automatically menu item is enabled, close the presentation by clicking the Close Tab icon (x) and the file is published automatically. Note that, in a group editing session, the file is published only when the last co-editor closes the presentation.
    • To publish the presentation manually, click File > Publish Now . Click the Close Tab icon (x) to leave the presentation.
    Note: If a co-editor deletes the file during your editing session, you are notified. Click OK in the message box to save your presentation as a new file and ensure that the changes you made can be preserved.