Editing communities

If you are a community owner, you can edit information about the community and the apps that are associated with the community.

About this task

Edit a community to change its name, description, and associated tags, and update information for any apps that are associated with the community. For example, if your community has a blog, you can edit the blog membership or update basic information about the blog. You can also reset the community's privacy level, or change the image that is associated with the community.

Procedure

To edit a community, complete the following steps.

  1. From the I’m an Owner view, select the community that you want to edit. If you are not already logged in, you are prompted to do so.
  2. Select Community Actions > Edit Community and do the following tasks:
    Note: If your community has extra apps that are associated with it, such as a blog or wiki, extra tabs display for these apps so you can edit them.
    1. To change the name of the community, type a new name in to the Name field.
    2. To change the access level of the community, select one of the following options:
      Note: If you change a community's access level from private to public, any private content, such as shared private files, is removed from the community.
      Table 1. Community access level options
      Option Description
      Public to my organization Select this option if you want the community to be public with anyone within your organization able to join.
      Moderated Select this option if you want the community to be public but for users within your organization to request membership.
      Restricted Select this option if you want the community to be restricted. Restricted communities are available only to those people who are added to the community as members or invited to join by a community owner.
      Note: To create a restricted community that people can discover and can request access to, select Let anyone in my organization see the community's title, description, tags, and owners. People in your organization but who are outside the community can then see the community's name, description, tags, and owners in the My Organization Communities view; these details also appear in search results.

      A subcommunity cannot be more visible than its parent. Therefore, if a parent community does not have Let anyone in my organization see the community's title, description, tags, and owners. selected, then the subcommunity cannot have this set either.

    3. To change the community description, edit the contents of the Description field.
    4. To add or remove community tags, edit the contents of the Tags field.
    5. To change the community's start page, click the arrow next to Start Page: and select a start page from the list of apps that displays. When members open the community, the selected app is displayed instead of the Overview page.
    6. To change the image that is associated with the community, click Upload a Community Image and browse for the image that you want to upload. Image resizing does not support all image formats. If you encounter problems with uploading an image, converting the image to a different format often works. For more information, see Creating communities.
    7. To apply a different theme to the community, click Change Community Theme and select one of the options available.
    8. To change the community's web address, click Access Advanced Featues and update the contents of the Web Address field. You cannot change the web address of a community that has subcommunities.
    9. To reduce email spam, change the community's mail privileges. Click Access Advanced Featues and select one of the following options: Members can email the entire community, Members can email owners only or Members cannot email others.
      Note: Mail settings apply to users with Member access only. Users with Owner or Business Owner can always email both community owners and members with Mail Community.
    10. If moderation is available and editable at your site, you can select from the following options:
      • Owners must approve all content (apps) where apps might be one or more of the following apps: Blog, Files, or Forums. When this option is enabled, community owners can review unpublished content that is submitted for approval and decide whether to publish it to the community or reject it.
      • Viewers can flag inappropriate content (apps) where apps might be one or more of the following apps: Blog, Files, or Forums. When this option is enabled, community owners can review content that is flagged as inappropriate by other users. Community owners can then decide whether to keep the content or remove it from the community.
    11. If you remove all external users from an external community and any subcommunities, you can convert it into an internal community. To convert an external community External user icon into an internal community, clear the External Access check box.
  3. Click Save.



TrademarksOpens in a new window | IBM Connections wikiOpens in a new window