Moderating community content

As a community owner, you can review and manage the blog, file, and forum content in your community directly from the community. By monitoring updates on a regular basis, you can control what content is added by members and remove anything that might be considered inappropriate in your organization.

Before you begin

Your administrator must enable owner moderation for community owners to be able to review and manage community content.

Tip: If you are a community owner, you can check if owner moderation is enabled for your community by logging in to Connections version 5.5 and opening your community. When owner moderation is enabled, you can select Moderation in the navigation to access moderation options.

Note that you can enable or disable moderation for individual communities by editing community settings. For more information, see Editing communities. You can also enable or disable moderation for a specific community when you create it. For more information, see Creating communities.

About this task

The Communities moderation interface provides a central place where community owners can review and manage the content of their community blog, files, and forums. If you are a community owner and owner moderation is enabled for your deployment, you can review content that has been submitted for approval, and then decide whether to publish it or reject it. You can also review content that has been flagged as inappropriate by other users.

When owner moderation is enabled, you can review the following content in the communities that you own:
  • Blog entries and comments
  • File content and comments
  • Forum posts
Your administrator can configure which of these content types are moderated. For example, your site might only have forum posts under moderation. Another site might have blogs and files under moderation, but forums are not moderated

You can also edit the content of any blog entry or forum post directly from the Moderation view by selecting the entry and clicking Edit.

Procedure

To moderate the content of your community complete the following steps.

  1. From the navigation, select Moderation.
    Note: You must be logged in to see Moderation.
  2. To review content that has not yet been published:
    1. Select Content Approval and then select the type of content that you want to work with - Blogs, Files, or Forums. Ensure that the Require Approval tab is selected.
    2. Click a title to review the content, and then do one of the following:
      • To publish the content to the community, click Approve. An email notification is sent to the content author to let them know that the content has been approved.
      • If you do not want to publish the content, click Reject, enter an optional reason for rejecting the entry, and click OK.

        The content is moved to the Rejected tab where you can later approve it or delete it. An email notification is sent to the content author, explaining your reason for rejecting the content.

      • To permanently delete the content, click Delete and click OK.
  3. To review unpublished content that was previously rejected:
    1. Select Content Approval, select the app that you want to work with - Blogs, Files, or Forums - and then click the Rejected tab.
    2. Click a title to review the content, and then do one of the following:
      • To publish the content to the community, click Approve.
      • To permanently delete the content, click Delete and click OK.
  4. To review published content that has been flagged as inappropriate:
    1. Select Flagged Content and then select the type of content that you want to work with - Blogs, Files, or Forums.
    2. Click a title to review the content and the reason given for flagging it, and then do one of the following:
      • To dismiss the flag and keep the content available in the community, click Dismiss.
      • To remove the content from the community, click Quarantine, enter a reason for removing the content, and click OK.

        The content is moved to a quarantine area and is no longer available to community members. An email notification is sent to the content author, explaining your reason for removing the content.

      • To permanently delete the content from the community, click Delete and click OK.
  5. To review published content that is quarantined:
    1. Select Flagged Content, select the type of content that you want to work with - Blogs, Files, or Forums - and then click the Quarantined tab.
    2. Click a title to review the content and the reason given for quarantining it, and then do one of the following:
      • To restore the content to the community, click Restore. An email notification is sent to the content author to let them know that the content has been restored to the community.
      • To permanently remove the content from the community, click Delete and click OK.



TrademarksOpens in a new window | IBM Connections wikiOpens in a new window