Using a file version

When you initially upload a file, you create a first version. When you or someone with Editor access uploads the file again, a new version is created. All previous versions are maintained. Versions can be deleted.

To access versions of a file, open the file page and click the Versions tab. You can see information that includes the version number, when it was updated, the person who made the updates, and the version size.

You can download versions of the file, and if you own the file or have Editor access, you can restore a previous version to make it the most recent version. Only an owner or administrator can delete a version of the file. A new version is generated if you restore a file from an older version, or click Upload New Version to upload a new version of the file.
Note: When you restore an older version, only the content of the file is restored. The title, tags, and other properties on the file page do not change.
Tip: When you upload a new version, include version change notes that describe the most recent changes. Version notes can help you quickly decide what you can delete and can save you a lot of time if you realize an older version of the file is what you want.

The administrator can disable versioning. If versioning is disabled, the new uploaded version overwrites the existing version.




TrademarksOpens in a new window | IBM Connections wikiOpens in a new window