Sharing folders

Using folders makes it easier to organize and share files. For example, you can share a folder that contains files rather than share each file individually.

About this task

Sharing a folder allows the files in that folder to be viewed. To provide editor-level access to files in the folder, you would share specific files with others.

You can give people and communities Reader, Editor, or Owner access to a folder.

  • Reader access: Readers can read files in the folder.
  • Editor access: Editors can add files to the folder, add and edit subfolders, delete subfolders that they created in the folder, delete files that they added to the folder, and see information about files in the folder.
  • Owner access: Owners have ownership of the folder along with the original owner. They can share the folder with other people, delete any files from the folder, and add, edit, and delete subfolders. The owner of a file can move it to trash, or remove it from a folder.

People and communities with whom you share folders can be notified in the Updates tab in their home page, and by email if specified in their notification preferences. See Setting email notification preferences.

To see who has access to your folders, open the folder page and click the Sharing tab.

Procedure


Option Description

To share a folder when you create it

  1. Click New > Folder.
  2. Type a name.
  3. Type a description.
  4. Select one of the following options:
    • Select People, Groups, or Communities to share with specific people and groups. Select a Person, a Group, or a Community, and select an access level. Then, start typing a name or email address and select that name or address when it is displayed. You see only the people and groups available in your enterprise directory.
    • Select Public to give everyone Reader access. Select Everyone can contribute to this folder to give everyone Editor access. When you make a folder public, non-public files are removed from the folder.
      Note: External users cannot see or access Public folders or files.
    Note: Subfolders always inherit the sharing information of the top-level folder. You cannot change the sharing information for a subfolder.
  5. Click Save.
Note: You cannot share a private folder with a public community.

To share a folder after you create it

  1. Open the folder.
  2. Click Share.
  3. Select one of the following options:
    • Select People, Groups, or Communities to share with specific people and groups. Select a Person, a a Group, or a Community, and then select an access level (described in this topic). Then, start typing a name or email address and select that name or address when it is displayed. You see only the people and groups available in your enterprise directory.
    • Select Public to give everyone Reader access. Select Everyone can contribute to this folder to give everyone Editor access. When you make a folder public, non-public files are removed from the folder.
      Note: External users cannot see or access Public folders or files.
    Note: Subfolders always inherit the sharing information of the top-level folder. You cannot change the sharing information for a subfolder.
  4. Click Share.
Note: You cannot share a private folder with a public community.

To make a public folder non-public

  1. Open the folder page.
  2. Click the Sharing tab.
  3. Click the X next to Everyone.

This action makes only the folder non-public. People, groups, and communities with whom you specifically shared the folder can still see and work with it.

Note: Subfolders always inherit the sharing information of the top-level folder. You cannot change the sharing information for a subfolder.

To make a shared folder private

  1. Open the folder page.
  2. Click the Sharing tab.
  3. Click the X next to the authorization types you want to stop sharing with; the available authorization types are Readers, Editors, or Owners.
  4. Click OK.
Note: Subfolders always inherit the sharing information of the top-level folder. You cannot change the sharing information for a subfolder.

To demote user' access to a shared folder

  1. Open the folder page.
  2. Click the Sharing tab.
  3. Click the X next to a person, group, or community.
  4. Select a new access level and then click OK.



TrademarksOpens in a new window | IBM Connections wikiOpens in a new window